Pursuit of Justice Awards

The AAJLJ presents an annual “Pursuit of Justice” award at a ceremony often held at the United States Supreme Court, to distinguished jurists and attorneys who exemplify the Biblical dictate, “Tzedek, tzedek tirdof,” “Justice, justice shall you pursue.”

Past recipients include U.S. Supreme Court Justices Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Stephen Breyer and Elena Kagan and Israeli Supreme Court Justice Aharon Barak.


 POJ 2021 with honorees Ben Ferencz, Patricia Glaser and Hon. Salim Joubran
POJ 2020 with honorees Stuart Kurlander, Alyza D. Lewin and Baruch Weiss
POJ 2018 with honorees Hon. Robert Abrams and Gabriel Groisman
POJ 2017 with honorees Hon. Guido Calabresi and Hon. Michael Mukasey

Past Pursuit of Justice Award Recipients

Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg

Hon. Robert Abrams

Hon. Aharon Barak

Benjamin Brafman

Justice Stephen Breyer

Thomas Buergenthal

Hon. Guido Calabresi

Michael Chertoff

Hon. Avern Cohn

Irwin Cotler

Stuart Eizenstat

Kenneth Feinberg

Gabriel Groisman

Justice Elena Kagan

Hon. Judith S. Kaye

Peter Neufeld

Nathan Lewin

Hon. Jonathan Lippman

Martin Mendelsohn

Hon. Michael Mukasey

Jack Olender

Barry Scheck

Seth Waxman

Robert L. Weinberg

Simon Wiesenthal